# THE ENGLISH TEACHERS ASSOCIATION OF QUEENSLAND, INC.



**Patron:** Professor Catherine Beavis

**President:** Garry Collins, 19 Redwood Street, Stafford Heights.4053

**Secretary:** Jenny Ivett-Hawes, Centenary SHS

Administration Officer: Patricia Purcell PO Box 3375, Stafford BC.4053

ABN: 17 664 872 321

# MINUTES OF THE FORTY SIXTH ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING OF THE ENGLISH TEACHERS ASSOCIATION OF QUEENSLAND INC HELD AT CENTENARY STATE HIGH SCHOOL SATURDAY 16 MARCH 2013

#### Welcome

The Annual General Meeting was opened by the President, Garry Collins, at 8.45 am. Garry welcomed all those attending.

## **Attendance**

Attending the Meeting: Garry Collins, Jenny Ivett-Hawes, Trish Purcell, Karen Moni, Jacqui Aretisoff, Geoff Ferguson, Karina Henswood, Katherine Kokkonen, Alison Kenan, Ben Cameron, Erin Dunlop, Julie Arnold, Michelle Ragen, Skai Iltners, Kelli McGraw, Linda Charles, Jan Cousens, Deb Peden, Lisa Marsh, Angela Stephens, Cathy Hallewell, Cara Gleeson, Isabel Harris, Vicki Williams, Adam Dawson, Alyson Pilu, Chrissy Laing, Lindsay Williams, Annie Fischer, Shauna O'Connor, Matthew Rigby, Vasi Naicker, Renee Hood, Renee Rutherford, Liu Hai-li, Nancy Bajwa, Allison Kelly, Bronwyn Darben, Ian Hoddinott, Linda Merritt, Rhonda Pam Lanham, Paul Cavangh, Leah Wells, Lynda Wall, Sonya Watts.

Apologies were received from: Catherine Beavis, Lenore Ferguson, Dr Nea Stewart-Dore, and Stew Riddle.

#### Ratification of the Minutes of the FORTY FIFTH AGM

The minutes of the FORTY FIFTH AGM had been previously distributed via the website.

It was resolved:

That the minutes of the 2012 Annual General Meeting be confirmed as an accurate record.

Moved Jenny Ivett-Hawes seconded by Julie Arnold

**CARRIED** 

**President's Address** Garry Collins delivered the President's Address which will be published in *Words'Worth and/or via the ETAQ website*.

Garry then introduced Trish Purcell to present her first Treasurer's Report.

## **Treasurer's Report**

After delivery of the Treasurer's report by. Trish Purcell

It was resolved:

That the Treasurer's Report for the financial year of the Association ending 31<sup>st</sup> December, 2012, be adopted

Moved *Trish Purcell* seconded by *Shauna O'Connor* 

**CARRIED** 

## **Appointment of Auditor**

It was resolved:

That Holmes Stubbings of 191 Musgrave Road, Red Hill be appointed as Auditor of ETAQ Inc. accounts for the financial year of the Association ending 31<sup>st</sup> December, 2013.

## Moved Trish Purcell seconded by Fiona Laing

**CARRIED** 

## **Secretary's Annual Report**

Garry announced that the Secretary's report on all the sub committees associated with ETAQ has been posted to the website and copies were made available.

It was resolved:

That the Secretary's Annual Report for 2012 be adopted.

Moved Jenny Ivett-Hawes seconded by Bronwyn Darben CARRIED

#### **Election of Patron**

It was resolved:

That Professor Catherine Beavis be elected as ETAQ Patron for 2013/14

Moved Michelle Ragen seconded Dr Kelli McGraw CARRIED

#### **Election of Office Bearers and Committee Members**

As only the required number of nominations had been received by seven days prior to the meeting, the following members were declared duly elected to office bearer positions in accordance with the Rules:

President: Garry Collins
Vice President Dr Kelli McGraw
Treasurer Trish Purcell
Secretary Jenny Ivett-Hawes
Membership Secretary Fiona Laing

Similarly, the following were declared duly elected to the twelve member positions on the Management Committee for 2012-13:

Julie ArnoldDiana BriscoeBronwyn DarbenSophie JohnsonHelen JohnstonShauna O'ConnorDebbie PedenMichelle RagenMathew RigbyDr Stew RiddleLeah WellsMelanie Wild

#### **General Business**

There was no general business.

## Closure

There being no further business the meeting closed at 9.24 am.

Jenny Ivett-Hawes Garry Collins
Secretary President